Home » Life » Double-Vision: Are You Seeing Things When You See Twins?

Double-Vision: Are You Seeing Things When You See Twins?

Courtesy of csmonitor.com

Tammy & Liesel

Tammy & Liesel

Getting It Right At School
The first time I witnessed twins was at high school. It really was a new world for me. The major challenge I kept trying to break past was, how to tell the difference between them! My friends, Liesel and Tammy, were a lot of fun. They were almost always together and everyone in their grade (they were 10 when I was 8) knew exactly who they wanted to talk to. As I got to know them (their classmates and friends) I found out that their friends in the lower grades also happened to have no problem telling them apart. This frustrated me because I really wanted to know who was who. Everyone made it sound as though it were a piece of cake. I decided enough was enough, went to one of them (Liesel), established a decent relationship and asked her how I could always and easily know when it was her I was talking to. I previously learned from everyone else but I wanted to confirm what they said. It was kind of funny and weird having to greet Liesel when she and Tammy walked together. Now, at the time Tammy had a fringe and Liesel did not. That made life easy. They are both married now so I will refer to them as the Former Rundell Twins.

Tia & Tamera

Tia & Tamera

TV Twins
I remember some of my favourite TV shows I used to see when I was in primary school. Ones like That’s So Raven along with other Nickelodeon shows really made my day. For some reason truly unknown to me, I had a particular fascination for Tia & Tamera. Actually today, admittedly, I still enjoy their shows. I believe there is certain realness they bring in every episode. It transcends script and to some degree reveals a certain level of transparency. They definitely bring you the real deal. Twins or not, everyone relates to small silly mistakes made at the wrong times. Wrong messages sent to the wrong person. Saying the wrong thing at an interview or  to a prominent person after working so hard to say and do the right thing in front of them in a desperate attempt to give a good first impression!

images-1

Mary-Kate & Ashley Olsen, as I remember them

As for the Olsen Twins I have no clue what they are like. They were sort of figures that kept popping in and out of parts of my childhood. I would see something about them-whether it were an article or image-understand it, then move on as though I saw nothing. At other times I saw Red Carpet moments, and I think those were the “Flashy” encounters I had. Apart from their twin nature and popularity, I generally knew nothing about them. Why do they feature here, then? They do so because they play a part in stirring up the curiosity I have always had about twins ever since I laid eyes on the first pair.

It Is The Same Difference
I always hated it with a a passion when anyone said that. Here in Africa, namely Zimbabwe, some, not most people have a terrible habit of saying that. It is an interesting oxymoronic statement, that creates a circumstance where I hear the deafening silence of their defence, that keeps them falsely true. It was a difference, nonetheless, that led me to a resolve I have run with to this day-to find out what that difference is. The indirect search brought me to very good friends of mine, the Fortunato Twins. Meeting them caused a situation where I began speculating the possibility of all twins having nicknames that are unique to them. They enjoy stating with great pride the fact they are, “Twinzies.” They market it as though it were a product, vocally display it as though it were a label and embrace it as though it were their life motto. In many ways it kind of is, a “Life Trademark,” if you will, that expresses everything they do and embodies everything they are.

It got me wondering if there is a certain similarity with all twins in that there is something unique to each one that is described by a nickname, as if to say they were a “different make.” What I loved most about them, though, is that they were un-identical twins. That made them the first twins I could tell apart with absolutely no problem! Sadly I must admit, that was not the case the first time I witnessed them. They tell their story about their background and present life, along with anything and everything that makes them the Twinzies they are, right here.

Abigail & Gabrielle

Abigail & Gabrielle

Ever Met Pen-Pal Twins?
A very popular figure here on WordPress, she speaks of her journey of self-discovery. She truly is a very down to earth person. I love how she expresses every bit of her thoughts about what you write. When she comments on your posts, she is 100% honest about how she feels and what she thinks about what you said. Such genuine authenticity is fortunately not so rare. It can still be challenging to find them but at least the search will not be drastic. Her name is Nyasha, although on her blog she is commonly known as Sherline. Together with her sister, Sharon, they call themselves, “Twinnies.”

My friend happened to meet some other twins whilst he was blogging away. This was awesome because they were a part of his community and I later found out that they were a part of mine too, not necessarily because we were connected through him. We commented on each other’s posts and followed each other and it was fun getting to know them. Here you have my pen-pal twins, only because I have never met them in real life:

Sharon & Nyasha

Sharon & Nyasha

Gabrielle Angel

Gabrielle Angel

Autumn Sunshine

Autumn Sunshine

Fitness Twins
How awesome is it to see twins workout together? I would really love to see that in real life. I think I came close this one day. We were taking a holiday I believe in South Africa and met visitors from the States. They did mention that they were going to go for a run but I cannot fully remember whether or not they actually did, and if they did, whether they did so on a day our family planned something at the time they were going to go for the run! My guess? The latter. I recently saw a video of twins working out. I thought that was great. These guys can motivate anyone to go the gym, not just twins. Meet the Harrison Twins:

Were there ever any twins in the Bible?

Of course there were! It actually does not make sense to have twins in the 21st Century without introducing them way back in the first century.

Jacob and Esau – the obvious ones, sons of Isaac and Rebecca, are the first twins mentioned in the Bible (Genesis 25:19-28). The story of Jacob is told in Genesis 25:19-37:36 and 42:1-50:3. The story of Esau is found in Genesis 25:19-28:9, 32:1 -33:20, and 35:27-36:43. From Jacob the twelve tribes of Israel descended. Esau became the father of the Edomites (Genesis 36:19,43; Obadiah 1:6; Malachi 1:2-3).

Ephraim and Manasseh –The Bible does not directly state that the two sons of Joseph and Asenath were twins, but there is good reason to believe they were. First, Genesis mentions they were both born “before the year of famine came” (Genesis 41:50). Second, two conceptions are not mentioned in the text. Third, if they are twins they fit nicely into the pattern seen in the lives of Isaac and Judah: both their younger twins inherited the birthright, just as the younger Ephraim was blessed first by Jacob (Genesis 48:19). Jacob promised that both Ephraim and Manasseh would become patriarchs of a multitude, which began a traditional blessing said in Israel: “God make you as Ephraim and as Manasseh” (Genesis 48:20).

You can have a look at Thomas the disciple, who was called “The Twin,” because that is what his name means, except we have no idea who his twin is (Matthew 10:3; Mark 3:18; Luke 6:15; Acts 1:13). His surname was Didymus (John 11:16; 20:24; 21:2), meaning “double,” or “twofold.” Castor and Pollux sons of Greek gods mentioned in Acts 28:11, and maybe Cain and Abel in Genesis 4:1-2. I am not too sure about the last one though.

What Some Twins Love To Do

You get Fashion Twins 

Amber & Gabrielle Mancino

Amber & Gabrielle Mancino

 Adventure Twins

French Twins with the Fortunato Twins

French Twins with the Fortunato Twins

  Wrestling Twins

Nicole & Brianna Bella

Nicole & Brianna Bella

 Singing Twins

The Royce Twins are Gabriel and Michael Saalfield

The Royce Twins are Gabriel and Michael Saalfield

 Dancing Twins

Laurent  & Larry Les

Laurent & Larry Les

Acrobat Twins

Sam & Teagan Rybka

Sam & Teagan Rybka

StandupComedyTwins

Justin & Chris Nelson

Justin & Chris Nelson

Talk about living life together! This takes brother and sisterhood to the next level! Of course, I would like to believe that it is easier for same sex twins to do stuff together than opposite sex twins (fraternal twins- also refers to non-identical same sex twins). I have seen that is virtually, if not literally, impossible for fraternal (opposite sex) twins to be identical. What I mean when I say, “cannot do stuff together” as far as opposite sex twins are concerned, I mean the deep stuff. Talking girl/guy stuff and relating to each other from a gender perspective.

When I think about all of the above, with the way they do what they do best-and quite possibly love to do-together, I can only imagine what that should and would be like for triplets, quadruplets and other multiples. One thing I would really love to see, whether on TV or real life, is a singing competition with a quartet (the gender arrangement does not matter) going against quadruplets.

My Twin Journey
Yes I know, it looks and sounds weird saying that because I am not a twin, however, twins and multiples do not realize that they take the rest of us through a journey too. You know who you want to talk to, but you do not know if the person you are looking at is the one. As I mentioned earlier that I determined within myself to find out the differences between twins and/or multiples. I mean the literal differences not the figurative expression of arguments and contention taking place. Having spent a lot of time with the Fortunato Twins and catching up on more of their lives on their blog, I came to pick out quite a number of differences, although they seemed to be unique to them, meaning that they did not occur as a result of them being twins, implying that it happens to all twins. I then began to understand how to interact with both of them, as individuals and as twins, allowing me to celebrate their differences and embrace their similarities. This is the angle to which I approach all twins. I cannot say the same for multiples because I have never spent time with some.

A lot of the best moments I have had with twins is making them say the same thing at the same time. You have no idea how hard that is. It often happens indirectly, especially when it is not my intention. I also love how they can think similarly and differently at the same tine when they are not together, denoting times when you speak to them individually about 5 minutes apart, paying careful attention the way they express themselves. I make crazy experiments, but that is where my conclusion to find differences comes from.

I know beyond shadow of doubt what everyone can identify with, twin, multiple, or not: comparison. I detest with a passion-whether talking about a light matter, such as behaviour, or a serious one like career paths-being compared to my brothers and vice-versa. Admittedly it is kind of fun comparing twins and multiples to their complete other. In the end, when I spend time with twins and God-willing multiples, the major difference I want to know is what helps me tell them apart with ease. 

Leave a Reply

