Home » Life » What the next chapter looks like

What the next chapter looks like

Moving Forward
I remember when Nick Vujicic was asked about what he wanted to be or was going to do when he grew up. The answer he gave was interesting. He told his story, during one of his motivational speaking seminars, leading up to the moment he recalled his feelings when his parents confronted him with that question. After a few short and long but slightly brief pauses, he decides to stir up the courage, with everything deep inside him, and give the answer, “I’m going to be a speaker!”

For those of you wondering who Nick is, here he is:

Now the reason I mentioned that portion of his life is because of the next question he was asked, “Oh really? What are you going to speak about?” The hunger for clarity, quest for knowledge, desire for closure and comfort of familiarity is something that we as humans live on earth by or as. Spontaneity is very much short-lived, in that, it offers temporary pleasure. It is a spur of the moment thing, so to speak. To leave a simple and straightforward answer like, “I am going to be an artist, a salesman, lawyer, businessman or doctor,” among others, is to leave a blank canvas in the mind of the one who asked the question. Even if half the picture is painted, they still cannot see the full image. They want to see what the end will look like before you get there.

As I have mentioned a few times in previous posts, to me life is a movie, in that it is a story we live and the pages written are the choices we make both directly and indirectly. The chapters (or pinch points/inciting incidents) are the consequences of your choices or the experiences you have whether you had control over them or not. The key thing in those moments is all about what you will resolve to do with what happens to you.

The chapters/pinch points can also be interpreted according to your age or the current year that we are in. I will be 27 next year during the time of this post which means the next chapter for me is 27, or it can be 14 if I chose to use the year. I am going to make the most of everything that I can. The relationships I have made this year, the lessons I have learned both from my own mistakes and other people’s too, and the journey that God is taking me through. I am thrilled and nervous.  I hope your story at this point, is at least how you like it to be.

If not, what are you going to do about it?
How are you going to be better at what you already are?

Every book for me is a chapter in the long book which will finally be closed on the day of my death- Peter Ackroyd

4 thoughts on “What the next chapter looks like

Leave a Reply

