Home » Life » What about 1 Corinthians 13?

What about 1 Corinthians 13?

Courtesy of powpowpictures.com

A few days ago I had written about the year 2013 being the year for putting God first. I had mentioned some of  the positive attributes of the number 13. More will be introduced here. If you would like to know them I highly recommend seeing the post. I have to come realize that the world has had quite a huge influence on our perception of this number because of the way it has been represented. It actually goes to the extent of having regular days being spooky like Friday 13 which amazes me because the other days of the week seem to be normal. So why Friday? Why make a huge deal about it?

Of course the media, particularly film, has played it’s part. I can only think of the movie 13 Ghosts (Horror) right now. Other movies such as:
Assault on Precinct 13-Action-Thriller
Friday 13th The Orphan Horror
Dementia 13 Horror-Thriller
13th Child: Legend of the Jersey Devil-Horror
13 Tzameti– Suspense-Thriller
13 Going on 30- Romantic Comedy Fantasy
Thirteen– Drama
13th Warrior– Historical Fiction-Action

These are all the movies I know that have the number 13 in them. 13 going on 30 was for the sake of putting it in a list with the number 13. Most of these movies have some sort of terrifying factor to them. A lot of them have hit top box office which means numerous and countless people have seen them. That means their worldview or at least perception of things concerning the number 13 is very strong!
The thing I learned recently is that there is no 13th floor in some hotels and there is no seat 13 in some airlines. Now because of these movies the world (and superstitious ones) has associated the number 13 with:

Bad luck
Death
Misfortune
Treachery
Magic, including sorcery, enchantments, and incantations

From a biblical point of view here is something interesting I learned about Friday 13th:

For believer, Friday 13 (of the month of nisan) is the day where the Christ is dead on the Cross; it is also a Friday 13, day placed under the sign of Venus, that Eve, tempted by the demon, made eat an apple to Adam, what entailed their expulsion of the terrestrial Paradise. God being indeed rested the seventh day of the Creation, first Saturday (Sabbath of the Jews) was this day. The next week there had therefore a Friday 13, day of the original sin, since they was redeemed an other Friday 13, that the death of the Christ. Particularly the Jewish Passover was the 14 of the month of nisan, and the Crucifixion took place the day before the Sabbath of Passover, therefore a Friday 13.

Here are some general facts about the number 13 in the Bible:

  • The thirteen guests at the Last supper of the Christ (meaning the 12 disciples and Jesus).
  • To chapter thirteen of the Gospel of Saint John, during of its Last supper with his disciples, Jesus declares that one of then will betray him. And after the announcement of the treason of Judas, Jesus prophesies the Peter’s denial.
  • The thirteenth chapter of the Revelation is reserved to the Antichrist and to the Beast.
  • The mystery of the Seven Churches of the Revelation presents the winner of 13 rewards on the whole. ()Rev 2:1-3:22)
  • The thirteen sons of David which were born when he was to Jerusalem. (1 Ch 3,5-9)
  • A decree of Jew extermination was decided by Haman during of a convocation addressed to scribes the thirteenth day of the first month. (Est 3,12)

Here are some occurrences of 13 in the Bible:

The number 13 is used 28 times in the OT and it is never used in the NT.

Numbers 17, 22 and 120000 are used 13 times in the Bible and the number 120 is used 13 times in the OT in its cardinal form.

In the Gospel of Saint John, Jesus uses on the whole 13 comparisons or titles to designate who he is really:

I am the Bread (Jn 6,35 and 6,48 and 6,51)
I am the Light (Jn 8,12 and 9,5)
I am the Gate (Jn 10,7 and 10,9)
I am the Good Shepherd (Jn 10,11 and 10,14)
I am the Resurrection (Jn 11,25)
I am the Way (Jn 14,6)
I am the Truth (Jn 14,6)
I am the Life (Jn 14,6)
I am the Vine (Jn 15,5)
I am the King (Jn 18,37 and 19,21)
I am Son of God (Jn 10,36)
I am in the Father (Jn 14,10 and 14,11 and 14,20 and 17,8)
I am (Jn 8,24 and 8,28 and 8,58 and 13,19)

The word star (or star) is used 13 times in the Koran. The words sickness, tear, dragon and the term “Son of God” are used 13 times in the NT.

The words carnal and treason are used 13 times in the Bible.

In the Bible, 26 numbers (written in their cardinal form) are multiple of 13.

In the New Testament, 8 chapters possess 13 verses on the whole. And always in the New Testament, only 13 different numbers are equal or higher than 2000.

Now I will mention the most important aspect of the number 13:

Represents the eternal love illustrated by Jacob and his twelve sons, Jesus-Christ and his twelve apostles

No matter how tough things get or irresistible the wrong action or perso may seem or appear to be, remember that God will not allow us to be tempted beyond what we can bear:

1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it

The reason to celebrate this is because of the strength we gain in Christ to overcome it, not only during temptation but in also being cotent when we have much and when we have little:

Philippians 4:13

I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency]

Do not let the media negatively influence your beliefs, ideals and values. The God of love (1 John 4:8) has inspired Paul to write a beautiful revelation of what love is and has instilled in the minds of those responsible for writing, editing and proofreading, printing and distribution of the Bible, to put together the verses and chapters in their necessary places in order for us to catch the heart of God, especially as it is communicated in

1 Corinthians 13

If I [can] speak in the tongues of men and [even] of angels, but have not love (that reasoning, intentional, spiritual devotion such as is inspired by God’s love for and in us), I am only a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.

And if I have prophetic powers (the gift of interpreting the divine will and purpose), and understand all the secret truths andmysteries and possess all knowledge, and if I have [sufficient] faith so that I can remove mountains, but have not love (God’s love in me) I am nothing (a useless nobody).

Even if I dole out all that I have [to the poor in providing] food, and if I surrender my body to be burned or in order that I may glory, but have not love (God’s love in me), I gain nothing.

Love endures long and is patient and kind; love never is enviousnor boils over with jealousy, is not boastful or vainglorious, does not display itself haughtily.

It is not conceited (arrogant and inflated with pride); it is not rude (unmannerly) and does not act unbecomingly. Love (God’s love in us) does not insist on its own rights or its own way, for it is not self-seeking; it is not touchy or fretful or resentful; it takes no account of the evil done to it [it pays no attention to a suffered wrong].

It does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness, but rejoices when right and truth prevail.

Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening].

Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]. As for prophecy (the gift of interpreting the divine will and purpose), it will be fulfilled and pass away; as for tongues, they will be destroyed and cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away [it will lose its value and be superseded by truth].

For our knowledge is fragmentary (incomplete and imperfect), and our prophecy (our teaching) is fragmentary (incomplete and imperfect).

10 But when the complete and perfect (total) comes, the incomplete and imperfect will vanish away (become antiquated, void, and superseded).

11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; now that I have become a man, I am done with childish ways and have put them aside.

12 For now we are looking in a mirror that gives only a dim (blurred) reflection [of reality as in a riddle or enigma], but then [when perfection comes] we shall see in reality and face to face! Now I know in part (imperfectly), but then I shall know and understand fully and clearly, even in the same manner as I have been fully and clearly known and understood [by God].

13 And so faith, hope, love abide [faith—conviction and belief respecting man’s relation to God and divine things; hope—joyful and confident expectation of eternal salvation; love—true affection for God and man, growing out of God’s love for and in us], these three; but the greatest of these is love.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What about 1 Corinthians 13?

  1. Wow! Such depth, such insight!!! Beautiful post, thanks for sharing. I know it must have taken a lot of time to put together but for you, I think it’s kind of easy!!!!

Leave a Reply

